Mississippi Power recognizes six outstanding teachers

GULFPORT – Six teachers are being honored by Mississippi Power with the Alan R. Barton Excellence in Teaching Award. The highly coveted award has been presented to a select group of educators in the company’s 23-county service territory since 1990.

The award was named for the late Alan R. Barton, president of Mississippi Power from 1980 to 1989. It celebrates Barton’s dedication and contributions to education and is designed to recognize and honor excellence in the classroom.

“South Mississippi has some of the most dedicated and hardworking teachers in the nation, and we’re honored to recognize these amazing educators who epitomize educational excellence,” said Mississippi Power President and CEO Ed Holland. “Teachers shoulder a very important responsibility by helping our children maximize their potential every day. Because of them, students strive for success making our communities better places to live and learn.”

This year’s recipients, chosen from nearly 60 nominees, are:
- Jeremy Bell, St. Martin High School, algebra I and geometry
- Tonda Farrior, Stringer Attendance Center, reading
- Lori Fisher, Pass Christian Elementary/Middle Schools, gifted
- Constance Roth, Bay Waveland Middle School, science and math
- Sara Waller, Wayne County Career & Technical Education Center, culinary arts
- Angie White, George Washington Carver Middle School, language arts
Since 1984, when Barton founded the Mississippi Power Education Foundation, newly merged with the Mississippi Power Foundation, the company has supported excellence in education throughout its service area by awarding more than $8.6 million in grants and awards to teachers, schools, school systems and educational projects.

Mississippi Power, a subsidiary of Southern Company (NYSE: SO), produces safe, reliable and environmentally responsible energy for more than 186,000 customers in 23 southeast Mississippi counties. Recognized throughout the utility industry for excellence in storm restoration and recovery efforts, Mississippi Power is the 2013 winner of the Edison Electric Institute’s Emergency Assistance Award. Visit our website at www.mississippipower.com. Follow us on Twitter, or like us on Facebook.


For further information: Keith Guillot 228.861.5543 kguillot@southernco.com