Mississippi Power Education Foundation announces Barton Award nominees
Cindy Duvall
228.865.5543 or 1.800.821.6383

GULFPORT, Miss. - Feb. 6, 2008 - The Mississippi Power Education Foundation has received 50 nominations currently being reviewed for the prestigious Alan R. Barton Excellence in Teaching Award. The highly-coveted award has been presented to a select group of Southeast Mississippi educators in Mississippi Power’s 23-county service area since established in 1990.

These 50 men and women are to be highly commended forbeing nominated,” said Becky Montgomery, executive director, Mississippi Power Education Foundation. “To be chosen to represent their school in this competitive selection means they represent the best of the best from their school. That is truly an award in itself.”

The recipients will be selected by the Foundation’s Board of Directors in early February. Winners will be notified and invited to attend a formal ceremony and dinner honoring themand their families in mid-April. Winners will be announced closer to the date of the ceremony. Historically, three Barton Award winners have been selected from the pool each year. Beginning this year, the Foundation is authorized to honor up to six recipients. 

Listed in alphabetical order is this year’s distinguished pool of nominees and the schools they represent:

Deborah Baker, Harrison Central High School; Laurie Blalock, Ocean Springs Alternative School; Kathryn Brown, West Jones Elementary; Lisa Brown, Runnelstown School; Susan Burns, Roseland Park Elementary; Iris Collins, Anniston Avenue Elementary; Gayle Cook, d’Iberville Elementary; Amber Cornelson, Greene County High School; Kimberly Cox, Oak Grove Upper Elementary; Donna Davis, Southeast Elementary; Jenny Doleac, Oak Grove Middle School; Monica Donohue, Oak Grove High School; Jonathan Dudek, East Central Upper Elementary; Beth East, Pass Road Elementary; Joan Estapa, Bay-Waveland Middle School; June Estrada, Gulfport High School; Sachiko Fairley, Bayou View Middle School; Sherri Lynn Funk, St. Vincent DePaul; Chelsea Gaines-Frazier, Jones Middle School; Audreye Hall, Jeff Davis Elementary; Kristie Hall, Moselle Elementary; Deborah Hodges, George County Middle; Marcia Hodges, East Central Lower Elementary; Karen Huddleston, Petal Middle School; Kathy Hudson, Vancleave High School; Rose Jenkins, Pass Christian Middle School; Martha Johnson, Harper McCaughan Elementary; Sherra Kimble, Leakesville Elementary; Cynthia Langenbacker, Bayou View Elementary; Kristi Lanterman, Southeast High; Kimberly McKernan, St. Martin Middle; Michael McLaughlin, St. Patrick Catholic High; Rita Mizell, Rocky Creek Elementary; Pamela Mollett, N.E. Taconi Elementary; Keri Peresich, Pecan Park Elementary; James (Ashley) Phillips, Wayne County High School; Amy Pickering, Collins Elementary School; Sharon Pratt, Northeast Lauderdale Elementary; Stephanie Rankin, Mount Olive Elementary; Jayne Robinson, Biloxi High School; Hollis Russell, Moss Point High School; Pamela St. Martin, Central Elementary; Melissa Sherwood, St. Martin High School; Ann Shirley, Michel Seventh Grade School; Cheryle Touchstone, Sumrall Middle School; LaDonna Tullos, Forest Elementary School; Raphael Waldrop, Hattiesburg High School; Cindy Wiltcher, Ellisville Elementary School; Cynthia Winborn, Poplarville Lower Elementary; James (Jim) Zipperer, Ocean Springs High School.

Recipients of the Alan R. Barton Excellence in Teaching Award receive a personal check for $3,000 and a plaque for their classroom. Additional awards of $3,000 can be used for professional development or for classroom supplies and equipment at their respective schools.

Barton, for whom the award is named, was president of Mississippi Power from 1980-1989. The award was established in 1990 to commemorate his dedication and contributions to the field of education. Since 1984, when Barton helped establish the Mississippi Power Education Foundation, the company has supported excellence in education throughout its service area by awarding more than $3 million in grants and awards to teachers, schools, school systems and educational projects.


Media Contact: Cindy Duvall, Mississippi Power Corporate Communications, 228.865.5543 or 1.800.821.6383, cwduvall@southernco.com