Alabama Power Energizers Award Teacher Grants

Sixteen first-year teachers from across Alabama are winners of this year's New Teacher Assistance Grants, sponsored by Energizers, the Alabama Power Service Organization.

The 16 public school teachers are all graduates of state-approved teacher programs located at Alabama's public four-year colleges and universities. The winners will each receive a $1,000 grant, which they can use to purchase materials and supplies for their classrooms.

"These teachers represent the best of the newest generation of public educators in Alabama. They are a credit to their school districts and the teacher programs where they received their training," said Robert Holmes, senior vice president of Alabama Power and chairman of the Alabama Power Foundation, which oversees the Energizers.

The teachers will receive their grants on Saturday, Feb. 16 at a luncheon in their honor at Alabama Power's corporate headquarters in Birmingham. A list of the winners is attached.

Energizers, the Alabama Power Service Organization, includes more than 3,500 Alabama Power, Southern Nuclear and Southern Company employees and their families. Last year, Energizers employees and families volunteered more than 50,000 hours and contributed more than $1 million to worthy causes around the state.

Here is the list of the 16 winners, the schools where they are employed and the colleges where they received their education degrees:

  *  Jana Byrd; Eva School, Eva; Athens State University
  *  Prentice Chandler; Clements High School, Athens; University of North
  *  Amanda Darby; Cloverdale Junior High School, Montgomery; Auburn
     University Montgomery
  *  Mary Davis; Buckhorn High School, New Market; University of Alabama
  *  Teresa Foster; Calera Elementary School, Calera; University of
  *  Jessica Gann; Prattville Intermediate School, Prattville; Troy State
     University Montgomery
  *  Toice Goodson; McIntyre Middle School, Montgomery; Alabama State
  *  Susan Johnson; Pittsview Elementary School, Pittsview; Troy State
     University Phenix City
  *  Tana Johnson; Landmark Elementary School, Dothan; Troy State University
  *  Brandy McKinnell, Smiths Station High School, Smiths; Auburn University
  *  Leah Pitzing; North Roebuck Elementary School, Birmingham; University
     of Alabama Birmingham
  *  Amber Pritchett; Hillcrest High School, Tuscaloosa; University of
  *  Angela Reeves; Jacksonville High School, Jacksonville; Jacksonville
     State University
  *  Debra Kay Shumock; John Will Elementary School, Mobile; University of
     South Alabama
  *  Tammy Thrasher, Westside Elementary School, Demopolis; University of
     West Alabama
  *  Patrick Whitehead; Huffman High School, Birmingham; Alabama A&M


SOURCE: Alabama Power

Contact: Michael Sznajderman of Alabama Power, +1-205-257-4155, or