Georgia Power receives the NAACP President’s Award

The Atlanta Chapter of the NAACP recently honored Georgia Power with its President’s Award. This award is presented to a corporation in recognition of an outstanding contribution made in their profession that enriches the community. Georgia Power was also cited for its support of the NAACP’s Economic Development Program when it signed the first NAACP Fair Share Agreement in the nation twenty-five years ago. This agreement generated millions of dollars for minority suppliers, and it increased the number of African-Americans in decision making positions.

Since the company’s inception, Georgia Power’s community service efforts have served as a trademark of its employees. Georgia Power employees are dedicated not only to providing the best electric service, but to enriching the environment and prosperity of their neighborhoods.

Employee community involvement is also exemplified by Allen Franklin, the President and CEO of Georgia Power. He currently serves on the executive board of the Atlanta Area Boy Scouts of America Council, the United Way of Metropolitan Atlanta board, and is a member of the board of directors for the Georgia Chamber of Commerce and Atlanta Chamber of Commerce. He also serves as chairman of the Centennial Olympic Park Area, Inc. board.

“Whether its getting involved in a civic organization such as the NAACP, mentoring a young student, being a partner in education, building a Habitat for Humanity home or joining a wide range of other activities, that dedication to serve has been a trademark of Georgia Power for generations,” stated Franklin. “Georgia Power’s community support has become an integral part of the way the company does business,” he added.

Georgia Power is the largest of five operating companies that comprise Southern Company, the largest investor-owned electricity group in the country. Georgia Power, and investor-owned, tax paying utility, serves customers in 57,000 of the states 59,000 square miles. Its 1.71 million customers are in all but six of Georgia’s 159 counties.