Mississippi Power Education Foundation honors three outstanding teachers

Celebrate Teacher Appreciation Week May 7 – May 11

GULFPORT, Miss. - April 30, 2007 – Mississippi Power ushers in Teacher Appreciation Week by recognizing three top performing educators in southeast Mississippi at the annual Alan R. Barton Excellence in Teaching Awards Banquet held at the Great Southern Club on Friday, April 27, at 6:30 p.m.

This year’s recipients are Kimberly Walker Cook of Oak Grove Upper Elementary School, Trena H. Attipoe of Long Beach Middle School and Millie Arender of Vancleave High School.

Cook teaches 5th grade math, science and social studies and has an infectious passion for advanced technology and computer literacy in her classroom. She earned a bachelor’s in elementary education from the University of Southern Mississippi and later received her master’s from the University of Alabama at Birmingham. She is a member of Mississippi Professional Educators and the National School Board Association’s Teaching and Learning Group.

Attipoe, an 8th grade pre-algebra and MCT Skills teacher, holds a bachelor’s degree in chemical engineering from Howard University and earned her math certification from Pearl River Community College. She motivates her students through teaching confidence and encourages students to be good life learners. As well, she leads the school’s robotics team, guiding future engineering and physics projects.

Arender is an 11th and 12th grade “higher math” teacher who teaches such subjects as trigonometry and advanced placement calculus. Arender holds a bachelor’s degree in special education from the University of Southern Mississippi and a master’s degree in math education from William Carey College. She earned her National Board Certification in 2000 and has received the Golden Apple for Excellence in Teaching and the Crystal Apple for Excellence and Extracurricular. Arender was chosen as Star Teacher in 1996, 1997, 1998, 2000, 2001, 2003 and 2004.

Recipients of the Alan R. Barton Excellence in Teaching Award receive a personal check for $3,000 and a plaque for their classroom. Additional awards of $2,000 can be used for professional development or for classroom supplies and equipment at their respective schools.

Barton, for whom the award is named, was president of Mississippi Power from 1980-1989. The award was established in 1990 to commemorate his dedication and contributions to the field of education. Since 1984, when Barton helped establish the Mississippi Power Education Foundation, the company has supported excellence in education throughout its service area by awarding more than $3 million in grants and awards to teachers, schools, school systems and educational projects.