Mississippi Power Education Foundation recognizes outstanding teachers

The Mississippi Power Education Foundation has recognized three south Mississippi teachers with its annual Alan R. Barton Excellence in Teaching awards.

This year’s recipients of the award are: Suzanne Harrison-Vancleave High School, Vancleave Phyllis Holland-Sumrall Attendance Center, Sumrall Laurie Johnston-Gorenflo Elementary School, Biloxi

Harrison teaches biology, zoology, botany, microbiology, genetics and human anatomy & physiology to grades 9-12 at Vancleave High School. She has both a bachelor’s degree and a master’s degree in home economics from the University of Mississippi and has 24 years of teaching experience.

Holland teaches 7th and 8th grade science at the Sumrall Attendance Center. She holds both a bachelor’s degree and master’s degree in elementary education from the University of Southern Mississippi and has 17 years of teaching experience.

Johnston is a kindergarten teacher at Gorenflo Elementary School in Biloxi. She holds a bachelor’s degree in elementary education from the University of Southern Mississippi and a master’s degree in elementary education from William Carey College. She has 11 years of teaching experience.

Each recipient is awarded $500 and a plaque, $500 for classroom supplies and $1,000 for staff development at their respective schools. The recipients will be honored at an awards banquet in May.

The Alan R. Barton Award was established in 1990 to commemorate Barton’s life and his dedication and contributions to the field of education. Barton was president of Mississippi Power Company from 1980 to 1989. During that time, he engaged in a campaign to enhance educational opportunities for all Mississippians. Among his many pursuits aimed at bettering education was the establishment of the Mississippi Power Education Foundation in 1984.

In the past 16 years, the Foundation has awarded nearly $2 million in grants for education in Mississippi.

# # #